Motivational Sunday

People often say that motivation doesn’t last. Well, neither does bathing–that’s why it’s recommended daily.
–Zig Ziglar

Life gets in the way every week of my goals. Mainly my health goals, and my writing goals. Those are the ones I care about the most.

This week I fell short of my writing goal. I planned to edit seven scenes, but early in the week I saw they needed major improvement, so three of them needed to be rewritten. Yeah, a big deal when I want to finish the book, but in the long run, I want a better story. So, I have to take the time and rewrite.

Every Sunday, I look over last weeks goal, and ask myself how I did. It isn’t always a fun task. There are many times I could have done better, but didn’t. There are also times when I can honestly say I did my best, but still fell short. But, if I don’t ask myself these questions I won’t learn how to push myself.

It’s time for me to start looking toward the next novel. I’m not quite finished with this one, but if I start to outline the next one, it will do two things. It motivates me to finish the one I’m working on, and gives me something to think about when I’m editing the same story over and over. As much as I love my stories, once I’ve read it for the hundredth time, I get bored. As long as I still like the story, I’m good. If I don’t like it, that is when the trouble sets in and I know it needs a rewrite. Thank goodness, my story seems to hold up at this stage.

So, during my Sunday Motivational session, I look at last weeks goal and my progress. Then I set a new goal for the upcoming week. This week is easy. Finish editing the last of my book. I always try to include more than I can finish, but not such a large goal I am over whelmed. I can’t say, “This week, I edit my entire book and write the next one.” I have to think about the quality of the work, and plan for that. Also, I have to know when to honestly tell myself I did a great job, or that I did a horrible job.

How did I do this last week? Early in the week I did great. Yesterday is the only day I lounged when I could have written. But, I did have a hard week at work also. My body was worn out. I spent the day reading, which is something that motivates me in my writing. Reading a good book motivates me to write a good book.

What are your goals? Do you ever go back and ask how you did?

Leave a Reply

