Quest for Health

I’m a yo-yo dieter. I have been big and thin numerous times, sometimes in the same year. I am tired of it. I’m more tired of being sluggish, bloated, having headaches, feeling achy joints and all around unhealthy. I have no one to blame but myself and I am ready for change.

A few years ago, I found the Wheat Belly book by William Davis, MD. It’s a lengthy book explaining millions of reasons not to eat anything made with wheat. I decided to go wheat free and I successfully avoided it for two months. I felt wonderful and I lost weight.

So why stop? It’s wheat. Not exactly wheat when I eat, but pizza, cakes, cookies, pancakes, bread, and a long list of things we crave on a daily basis. The thing is, when I am not eating wheat, I don’t crave it. I can just as easily pass up that piece of ‘Death by Chocolate’ cake.

I’ve been slowly going wheat free for almost two weeks. I feel better already.

I’m not going to ‘Diet’. I’m sick of dieting. I go on a diet and I never see the end result because I stop losing weight and I get discouraged and disappointed I didn’t get down to 165. I haven’t been that in the past decade. Or, I lose weight, but the result is that I have no energy, my hair is thin and stringy, and I just look malnourished.

I’m going to go on a “Challenge”. X days, or 1 month and lose all I can, and then eat normal with no guilt. I’ll work on the details and let you know the results.

2 thoughts on “Quest for Health

Leave a Reply

