Yearly Goals- A month early

new-years-eveI know I’m more than a month early, but in order to achieve my goals, I have to be sure which ones I want to accomplish. As a writer, accepting a project is a big deal. To draft, edit, and improve a story takes time. Not minutes or hours, but days, weeks, and even months. Is the project worth the time I must invest?

I can’t say I’ve ever made a wrong choice. I’ve written novels that weren’t published, but each project was a learning experience, so I don’t feel like I wasted time.

I started a new project a few months ago. It is a longer story with a more complex world, so it is taking me longer than I thought it would. Yes, I am learning as I go. However, I have another project that is beginning to surface. I’ve tried to suppress it, but I don’t think I can.

This means if I take on this new project, it will take time away from the current story. It won’t stop, but will take more time to finish. It is a shorter story, and less complicated. No way could I try and write two ubber-complex stories.

As I plan what I want to accomplish for the New Year, I have to look at this past year. Did I use my time wisely? Did I accomplish everything I could have? My honest answer is NO. I failed to write as often I could have. That means if I work to take advantage of all my time, I can do more.

I can have my cake and eat it, too. I know that is pretty lame and cliche’, but you understand what I mean. I can continue working on my current project, and begin work on this other one. In order to do that, one must be a priority, and the other is second fiddle. That one gets worked on after I have worked the number of hours I planned for the first project.

I have to remember to set aside time for leisure and resting. I have to allow myself to accept changes that are beyond my control and not allow guilt to interfere with my life.

As long as I record my progress, I can continue to evaluate my progress.

Leave a Reply

